Welcome! » Log In » Create A New Profile

Would HTML Purifier be overkill for this kind of usage?

Posted by Stefano 

Hello, I'm coding a simple PHP script. I'm not very experienced and I can't say for sure that I really need HTML Purifier, so I would like to ask for your advice.

These are some specifications for the script that I'm writing:

- I'm using UTF-8. The database, server headers and meta tags are properly set-up.

- The document type is XHTML 1.0 Strict.

- I'm using PHP 5.2.5

- I'm using prepared statements with bound parameters so I don't have to worry about SQL injection.

- I'm only accepting input from the user through POST requests.

What I would like to prevent is any possible security problem, like XSS, caused by malicious input.

I generally parse everything the user submits with a few regex to allow only a very restricted subset of the ASCII character set. In these cases I feel confident enough that no problems should arise.

What I'm concerned about is accepting input like usernames and comments. I would like the user to be able to insert every character without restrictions. Fortunately, I don't need to preserve any HTML syntax or things like that. The input doesn't need to be parsed in any way. I suppose this makes things simpler.

To avoid malicious input I'm using something like this:

/* Strip all non printable characters. I allow CR, LF and TAB in the regex for comments */
$userInput = preg_replace ('%[\x00-\x31\x127]%', '', $userInput);
/* Convert angled brackets with < and > */
$userInput = preg_replace (&#039;%<%&#039;, &#039;&lt;&#039;, $userInput);
$userInput = preg_replace (&#039;%>%&#039;, &#039;&gt;&#039;, $userInput);

Would this be enough to prevent security breaches? I suppose that getting rid of the angled brackets will prevent the injection of HTML code and avoiding non printable characters (apart from CR, LF and TAB when needed) is enough for my simple needs.