Welcome! » Log In » Create A New Profile

When to use HTML Purifier

Posted by McCarville 
When to use HTML Purifier
May 04, 2011 12:57PM

I am brand new to HTML Purifier and I am wondering when I should be using HTML purifier at different points in my application and when a utility like this would be considered over kill. For example in my app I have simple user input fields like usernames and passwords, and then more "involved" fields with CKEditor for user to enter large amounts of HTML content? I would assume that I should be using HTML Purifier for large amounts of HTML from a WYSIWYG like CKEditor, but should I use HTML Purifier for all user input fields like username or password? If HTML Purifier would be considered "overkill" for the those types of field does anyone have some suggestion as to what I should be doing with these fields to protect against injection and XSS attacks?

I apologize for any naivety in my post but I am still just learning, and I would also like to thank everyone in advance for your advice on this matter.

Regards, Mike Sloan

Re: When to use HTML Purifier
May 04, 2011 02:15PM

For the conceptual framework you need to make this judgment, see here: http://web.mit.edu/ezyang/Public/iap/intro-to-was.html

In short, if it's HTML, consider using HTML Purifier on it. If it's not, don't.

May 05, 2011 10:24AM

Thank you very much for all the information, the PPT was very interesting. Are you a professor at MIT?

I know the simple answer you gave was short and to the point, but it definitely lead me to an "aha moment" regarding when to use HTML Purifier, some time that most obvious answers escape the mind.

Regarding the sanitation of user input I have been reading about PDO and it seems like that is what you were using in your PPT. In the example below, assuming the value for $name is coming from a $_POST['txtName'], should something be done to information in the POST data or is it as simple as $name=$_POST['txtName']?