Welcome! » Log In » Create A New Profile

Help me understand the proper use of html purifier :)

Posted by Dingo2 
Help me understand the proper use of html purifier :)
December 22, 2012 07:36AM

I apologize if topic like this has appeared too many times, but I find it is better to ask stupid questions than make stupid mistakes.

I started learning php about an year ago (sporadically), and about a few months ago I decided to create an application which I use to learn important php concepts and at the end, security.

For the framework I chose codeigniter and for now I feel really comfortable with it. About 2 weeks ago I started learning in more detail about security (from lerning how to program with security in mind, to informing myself about projects such as htmlpurifier) and how can I protect my application from stuff.

While codeigniter got me covered with session encoding, sql injection (via the active record), csrf I kinda didn't understand how to protect my app from xss, because I don't think I understand xss properly and when some other stuff will be less expensive in protecting user form input.

So for the sake of clarification, I would be grateful if somebody can explain the use of htmlpurifier on an exaple

The example: I have a simple form which contains the following - An input field (name) which should only allow alpha (utf-8) symbols (so no stuff like ', etc). - A textarea, a simple textarea which doesn't allow any of the htlm stuff (strips the tags) and on output it uses preg_replace to make paragraphs out of \n etc. (on edit it just returns it).

So should I use htmlpurifier for a input field, which only accepts alpha? (uses preg_match("/^([a-z])+$/i", $str)? to filter), or should I use purifier on top of it?

Should I use purifier on an textarea which uses strip_tags(), or should I use purifier (and how should I configure it to prorerlly strip tags?).

I guess that on form element such as dropdown and radio button using a purifier makes no sense?